22 March, 2016

Belrose Bicycles tops winners list at Mountain Designs ARA NSW / ACT Championships

Southern Highlands NSW Mother Nature turned on her charm for the Mountain Designs Adventure Race Australia NSW / ACT Championships on Sunday, 20 March.

FINISH-2016-MDARA-NSW-Belangle-Winners-2-600x400More than 100 adventure race enthusiasts enjoyed a day filled with kilometres of mountain biking and trekking throughout Belanglo State Forest in the stunning Southern Highlands located halfway between Sydney and Canberra.

The Hardcore race featured up to 25km of mountain biking and 10km of trail running / trekking, as well as adventure legs consisting of rope challenges and a giant slingshot all while navigating using map and compass.

ROPE-2016-MDARA-NSW-Belanglo-LS-600x400Team Jog On (Pippa and Jo Lyon) took first in the premier mixed team with a time of 3 hours 20 minutes 22 seconds, which was more than a minute ahead of Max Adventure (Megan and Gary Farebrother).

Live Adventure (Lisa Antill and Kat Cassidy) topped the women’s podium (3:36:44) while Belrose Bicycles (Chad and Ryan Armstrong) claimed the men’s prize and overall line honours in a blistering time of 2:49:53.

SMILE-2016-MDARA-NSW-Belanglo-male-RUN-600x400In the Raw category, which features a shorter course with less challenging navigation and terrain, Team Eddowes & Kevin Thorogood took first (2:35:30) in the mixed team field, while Team Barry (Michelle Barry & Siobhan Wong) was the first all-women’s team (2:40:33) and the Macca Bros (Andrew McLachlan & James McLachlan) were the first all-men’s team (1:46:25).

Michael Ridley-Smith won the solo division (1:32:41), and Team McNelly (Michelle McAuliffe & Narelle Quigley) claimed the rookie Explore course in a time of 4:26:57.

SMILE-2016-MDARA-NSW-Belanglo-fem-LS-600x400TOP 3 RESULTS

Hardcore NSW/ACT

Premier Mixed:

Jog On (Pippa Lyon & Jo Lyon), 3:20:22

Max Adventure (Megan Farebrother & Gary Farebrother), 3:21:26

Lifestyle (Lisa Krummer & Luke Parkes), 3:30:27


Belrose Bicycles (Chad Armstrong & Ryan Armstrong), 2:49:53

SMILE-2016-MDARA-NSW-Belanglo-RUN-600x400Dez & Shaun (Shaun Martin & Derryn Knife), 3:35:30

CDSS1 (Craig Shortt & Andy Harr), 3:39:03


Live Adventure (Lisa Antill & Kat Cassidy), 3:36:44

The Two Pink Ladies (Lynette Brigden & Vicki Humpherson), 3:40:49

Rover Scouts 1 (Heather Porter & Rose Stevens), 5:44:49

MTB-2016-MDARA-NSW-Belanglo-male-LS-600x400Raw & Explore NSW/ACT

Raw Mixed

Team Eddowes & Kevin Thorogood, 2:35:30

Chalea (Chas Ruffles & Leanne Rayner), 2:38:34

Team Thomson (Michael Thomson & Marika Thomson), 2:44:35

Raw Female

Team Barry (Michelle Barry & Siobhan Wong), 2:40:33
Jonads (Jo Holgate & Nadine Lucas), 3:04:55

Raw Male

Macca Bros (Andrew McLachlan & James McLachlan), 1:46:25

Team Star (Matthew Bufston & Dale Stephenson), 1:49:59

Beach Boys (Daniel Fernandez & Harry Dodson), 3:04:46


Team McNelly (Michelle McAuliffe & Narelle Quigley), 4:26:57


Michael Ridley-Smith, 1:32:41

Roland Wright, 1:35:32

Stephen Bertram, 2:45:57

Upcoming Events (2016)

Photo Credits: Tom Testone and Lisa Matuzelis

©2021 by In2Adventure | Privacy | Policies

Proudly created by MRM My Robot Monkey Website Design | Graphic Design | SEO | Marketing